Forums
Win 7 64 or Win 8 64
Problems with your game or match? Post here for help!

Win 7 64 or Win 8 64

Postby klok » Thu 24 Oct, 2013 9:32

Which one people?

And why?
klok
Former E-Dom Admin
 
England England
Posts: 5086

Re: Win 7 64 or Win 8 64

Postby Don Rafael » Thu 24 Oct, 2013 11:08

7 64

8 is wank imo, complete new interface where you have to get used which makes things more difficult rather than easier, especially because it's different than all other OS' so you're not used to it.
Don Rafael
Honorary E-Dom Admin
Honorary E-Dom Admin
User avatar

 
Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 13929

Re: Win 7 64 or Win 8 64

Postby stiggz » Thu 24 Oct, 2013 12:24

7 x64 any day of the week.

Windows 8 interface takes some getting used to as it's more built for touchscreens and tablets. Plus the 8.1 updates affects raw mouse input, so games such as CoD and Deus Ex have real bad mouse lag.

Only reason to go with Windows 8 is for DirectX 11.1/11.2.
stiggz
E-Dom COO
E-Dom COO
 
England England
Posts: 2145

Re: Win 7 64 or Win 8 64

Postby Tas » Thu 24 Oct, 2013 12:37

Would have agreed with Don and Stiggz up until 3 weeks ago, People were mentioning performance increases in BF4 with windows 8 so I bit the bullet and installed 8.1.

I have it setup to auto go to desktop so hardly ever see the horrid Metro. I don't see any mouse lag in any of the cod games then again I use a Roccat Kone in which you can tell it to ignore the windows mode.

Example of differences in BF4, with Windows 7 everything at max in BF4 average 64, high 92, low 34. Windows 8.1 same settings average 72, high 103, low 44.

Although the windows 7 was not a new install but the windows 8.1 was.

BTW would not go back to windows 7 now as I like the interface and it just seems much smother in everyday tasks.

Comp specs that ran the benchmark
MSI Geforce GTX 770 Gaming Edition 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
Intel Core i7-4770K 3.50GHz (Haswell) Socket LGA1150 Processor OC to 4.6Ghz
Gigabyte Z87X-OC Intel Z87 (Socket 1150) DDR3 ATX Motherboard
Sennheiser PC 350 SE Gaming Headset
Samsung 250GB SSD 840 EVO SATA 6Gb/s x 2
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
TeamGroup Vulcan ORANGE 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-17100C11 2133MHz Dual Channel Kit
Corsair RM Series RM 850 '80+ Gold' 850W Power Supply
Corsair Carbide 400R Midi Tower Case - Black
Pioneer BDC-207DBK 8x BluRay ROM / DVDRW SATA-II Optical Drive
Corsair Hydro H100 Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
Tas
Former E-Dom Admin
 
Scotland Scotland
Posts: 317

Re: Win 7 64 or Win 8 64

Postby MorroW » Thu 24 Oct, 2013 14:34

Yeah, best to go with 7. Windows 8 is absolute wank.
MorroW
Former E-Dom Admin
 
England England
Posts: 727

Re: Win 7 64 or Win 8 64

Postby Bl@de » Thu 24 Oct, 2013 19:38

dam... with that pc spec benchmark I will prob get 15 fps with mine :shock:
Bl@de
E-Dom Spammer
User avatar

 
England England
Posts: 659

Re: Win 7 64 or Win 8 64

Postby Jo3 » Thu 24 Oct, 2013 20:17

Windows 8 and 8.1 are not that bad (with some changes) one reason to get it would be the new DX11 features that are in BF4 I think, Windows 7 is still good but Microsoft want to push new features to Windows 8.

Also Windows 8.1 which has just come out has lots of problems with mouse lag in games. :)

If you get Windows 8 (i wouldn't get 8.1) i would recommend using http://www.classicshell.net/ to add a start button back in then it becomes best of both worlds. :)
Jo3
E-Dom Veteran
User avatar

 
England England
Posts: 1479

Re: Win 7 64 or Win 8 64

Postby klok » Thu 24 Oct, 2013 20:50

so win 7 it is then jo3 :YY:
klok
Former E-Dom Admin
 
England England
Posts: 5086

Re: Win 7 64 or Win 8 64

Postby Jo3 » Fri 25 Oct, 2013 7:57

Honest i would go for just windows 8, with classic shell on there its just as usable as 7. W8 has more features and it is a faster os also you are bang up to date then :)

(been using Windows 8 since it came out because of my job i need to know my way around it)
Jo3
E-Dom Veteran
User avatar

 
England England
Posts: 1479

Re: Win 7 64 or Win 8 64

Postby Juanbreezer » Fri 25 Oct, 2013 10:57

Win 7 on 64bit on SSD
No other comment available...

You do bot want black screens on uac klok ^^
Juanbreezer
E-Dom Veteran
User avatar

 
Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 2647


Return to Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron